Graduate Students

Ahmed Abohamad

Moral Psychology, Social Epistemology, Ethics, and Philosophy of Science

Eno Agolli

Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Logic, Wittgenstein

eno.agolli@uconn.edu

Rashed Ahmad

Philosophy of Logic, Philosophy of Math, paradoxes, Truth.

rashed.ahmad@uconn.edu

Ahmed Alenaizan

Metaethics, Ethics, Political Philosophy

ahmed.alenaizan@uconn.edu

Nimra Asif

Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Political Philosophy & Public Policy, and Feminist Philosophy

nimra.asif@uconn.edu

Phillip Barron

Aesthetics, Philosophy of Language (esp. Poetry)

phillip.barron@uconn.edu

Eric Berg

Formal Logic, History of Analytic Philosophy, and Philosophy of Education

eric.berg@uconn.edu

Kristin Culbertson

Moral and Political Philosophy, Social Justice, Ethics

kristin.culbertson@uconn.edu

Geevanesam Devakanmalai

Ethics, Philosophy of Medicine, Philosophy of Culture, and Moral Psychology

Gregg

Mary Gregg

Mary is a PhD candidate at the University of Connecticut, Storrs. She studies the role of visual humor both in terms of its language-like behavior and non-linguistic modes of communication as they relate to the style, norms, and traits unique to the depictive form, with a focus on cartooning, Deepfakes, gifs, and related media. In particular, her research focuses on an underexplored aspect of visual humor: the way in which visual jokes meant to disempower a person or group can be taken up by the targeted person or group as a means of empowerment. Her areas of specialization include humor ethics, aesthetics, philosophy of disability, and gender studies.

 

Mary Gregg's Curriculum Vitae

mary.gregg@uconn.edu

Michael Hegarty

Philosophy of mind (esp. mental representation, perception, intentionality and consciousness), Epistemology, Truth and Meaning.

michael.hegarty@uconn.edu

Mengyu Hu

 Logic, Semantics, Metaethics, Metaphysics

mengyu.hu@uconn.edu

Ken Ito

Philosophy of Language, Philosophical Logic, Truth

kensuke.ito@uconn.edu

Photo of Ahmad Jabbar

Ahmad Jabbar

Natural Language Semantics, Logic, Epistemology

ahmad.jabbar@uconn.edu

Drew Johnson

Metaethics, Epistemology, and Truth

drew.johnson@uconn.edu

Ozcan

Özcan Karabağ

Philosophical logic, philosophy of logic, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of language

ahmet.karabag@uconn.edu

Yuhan Liang

Chinese Philosophy, Comparative Philosophy, Moral Problems

yuhan.liang@uconn.edu

Photo of Jordan Lindo

Jordan Lindo

Moral philosophy, philosophy of language, metaphysics

jordan.lindo@uconn.edu

long2

Mandy Long

Mandy Long is a Ph.D. candidate writing about the philosophical history of work, the indispensable role of work in good human lives, and questions of meaning-making, enrichment, oppression, or degradation in different kinds of work or work conditions. She has taught Intro to Social Ethics at UConn’s branch campuses since 2019, bringing these questions to undergraduates so that they can effectively choose the kinds of work they want to undertake in their professional and personal lives. Mandy holds a B.S. in Psychology from Western Carolina University, an M.A. in Philosophy from Georgia State University, and another M.A. in Philosophy from UConn. She is a three-time recipient of UConn’s Excellence in Teaching achievement and a proud recipient of a CALI Excellence for the Future Award from UConn’s Law School in the course “Labor Law: Organizing and Collective Bargaining.” Mandy is from the foothills of western North Carolina and enjoys gardening, true crime documentaries, traveling (photo: at the site of Aristotle’s Lyceum in August 2021), and hiking with her dog Maya.

mandy.long@uconn.edu

Joel Lorenzatti

Philosophy and History of Science, Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science

joel.lorenzatti@uconn.edu

Susanna Melkonian-Altshuler

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Truth

susanna.melkonian-altshuler@uconn.edu

Heather Muraviov

Virtue Theory, Epistemology, Ethics, Philosophy of Education, Feminist Philosophy

heather.muraviov@uconn.edu

Aliyar Ozercan

Cognitive Neuroscience, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Neuroimaging

aliyar.ozercan@uconn.edu

Photo of Katie Peters

Katie Peters

Virtue and Vice Epistemology, Ethics, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Education

katherine.peters@uconn.edu

Amit Photo

Amit Pinsker

Theories of rationality and philosophical logic

Christopher Rahlwes

Indian Philosophy, Comparative Philosophy, Philosophy of Language

christopher.rahlwes@uconn.edu

David Rodriguez

Virtue and Vice Epistemology, Moral Psychology (esp. emotions), Virtue Theory, Philosophy of Religion

david.j.rodriguez@uconn.edu

Jenelle Salisbury

Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Epistemology

jenelle.salisbury@uconn.edu

Amelia Shaw

Aesthetics, Existentialism, and Philosophy of Religion

UtkuPhoto

Utku Sonsayar

Philosophy of science, philosophy of language, meta-ethics

Ryo Tanaka

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Sellars

 

ryo.tanaka@uconn.edu

Taylor Tate

Philosophy of Education, Africana Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy

tltate018@gmail.com

Cody Turner

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of AI, Virtue Epistemology, Applied Ethics (especially Ethics of Technology and Existential Risk)

cody.turner@uconn.edu

Katrina Van Dyke

Epistemology (esp. Virtue, Social, and Political Epistemology), Ethics, and Feminist Philosophy

katrina.van_dyke@uconn.edu

Photo of Yuan Ye

Yuan, Ye (Justin)

Metaethics, Philosophy of Law

ye.yuan@uconn.edu